When payment is made or a credit card is put on file, do not destroy the current demo VM. Allow the current VM to continue where left off and just upgrade.
The Virtual Machine is not destroyed if you register your account within the first 24 hours.
However if you go past that period it will be destroyed.
You won't be notified about changes to this idea.