DO Ideas 2

Scrub VMs on delete by default

VMs should automatically be scrubbed. This should extent to both the API and Control panel.

  • Wilfried Schobeiri
  • Sep 11 2018
  • Shipped
  • Sep 11, 2018

    Admin Response

    This is now the default behavior for both the destroys initiated through the web as well as through the API. Thanks!
  • Attach files
  • TiagoTT commented
    September 11, 2018 17:44

    Data privacy is a rigth a user should never be able to turn off, much less having it off by default.

    And changing an API method default's behaviour without notice is bad, that is what API version numbers are for.

    What next?
    An "optional and disabled by default" flag to make your virtual private network really secure?

  • John Edgar commented
    September 11, 2018 17:44

    As per our blog, we will be issuing a software update today to change this behaviour. http://digitalocean.com/blog

  • Robert Sanders commented
    September 11, 2018 17:44

    At the very least, the default should be a per-customer setting, and *that* should default to "scrub on destroy". People who want to cost optimize droplet destruction can take the associated risks with not-scrubbing.

  • mikeash commented
    September 11, 2018 17:44

    The option not to scrub also needs to be surrounded by large blinking text that explains the ramifications of that choice. The current wording in the UI and documentation is completely lacking when it comes to that.

  • Jonathan Kamens commented
    September 11, 2018 17:44

    Oh, God, yes, please, not scrubbing data automatically that is handed back to DO for reallocation to other users is just so utterly, inconceivably wrong. It shouldn't be an option. You should just do it. Period, end of story.