DO Ideas 2

Don't modifiy my machine when restoring from snapshot

Recently I had to move a droplet due to Digital Ocean Issues. I snapshotted the machine, destroyed and recreated it from the snapshot. However when the machine was recreated the root password was changed (and sent via email which is far from secure), along with the SSH host keys & my network interfaces file was changed - removing the iptables hook I had put there.

  • Richard Cunningham
  • Sep 11 2018
  • Attach files
  • Wayne Hartmann commented
    September 11, 2018 17:37

    yeah well, when you create a new droplet, its technically a brand new server. There are some things that should change between your droplets. Considering most people use snapshots to either scale their application, or restore to the same droplet (I'm pretty sure if its the same droplet this info does not change?).

    Either way, it would be nice to have an option to choose how to restore the image. i.e. full restore (an exact clone) or a new droplet with new ssh keys, etc.