Backups and snapshots are different which is why there are two different terms. Backups are automatically taken and have a relationship to the droplet they were taken from. This is why when you destroy a droplet it's associated backups will be destroyed as well.
Snapshots once created are not destroyed unless the user themselves selects to destroy them.
This is why the terminology is different.